Logan Stieber’s quest for fourth title starts at All-Star Classic against Edinboro’s Mitchell Port

National Wrestling Coaches Association Release



Logan Stieber’s quest for fourth title starts at All-Star Classic against Edinboro’s Mitchell Port


Link: http://www.nwcaonline.com/nwcawebsite/news/2014/10/15/logan-stieber-s-quest-for-fourth-title-starts-at-all-star-classic-against-edinboro-s-mitchell-port


Manheim, Pennsylvania –  Ohio State’s Logan Stieber is looking to join a very exclusive group. The senior from Monroeville, Ohio looks to join Pat Smith, Cael Sanderson and Kyle Dake as the only four-time NCAA Division I wrestling champions in the sport’s history. He’ll face one of his top competitors in Edinboro’s Mitchell Port at 141 pounds at the 2014 NWCA All-Star Classic presented by the United States Marine Corps and the Wrestlers in Business Network hosted by Penn and WIBN-Philadelphia on November 1 at the Palestra on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania.


Stieber’s participation puts the 49th annual event at five returning NCAA Division I champions as Northwestern’s Jason Tsirtsis, Oklahoma State’s Alex Dieringer, Missouri’s J’Den Cox and N.C. State’s Nick Gwiazdowski will also take part in the dual. The final lineup totals 34 total All-American medals, 11 finals appearances and seven total titles.


It’ll be the second straight year Stieber has appeared in the event. Last year, Stieber bumped up to 149 pounds to face returning NCAA champion Kendric Maple of Oklahoma. The match ended with an exciting 6-4 tiebreaker win by Stieber.


“Anytime you get to showcase a wrestler like Logan Stieber in an event like the All-Star Classic, it’s a win for the sport of wrestling,” said NWCA Executive Director Mike Moyer. “You can literally count on one hand, without even using all your fingers, the number of times we’ve seen a four-time Division I wrestling champion. We all know there is nothing certain in our sport, seeing a potential NCAA finals preview with Stieber and Edinboro’s Mitchell Port is a fantastic way to kick off the wrestling season. Mitchell Port is a tremendous wrestler. He’s well-coached and any opportunity for him to get to see Stieber before March will suit him well.”


In 2013-14, Stieber went 30-1 en route to his third NCAA Division I title. He topped Virginia Tech’s Devin Carter in the finals. Stieber’s record stands at 90-3 and he’s avenged every single loss during the last three seasons. He’s also been one of the most dominant, racking up 75 bonus victories in 90 wins – good for 83.3 percent.


Port’s career has been impressive. The Tyrone, Pennsylvania native went 32-1 last season en route to a third-place finish at 141 pounds. His lone loss on the season was an upset loss in the quarterfinals to North Carolina’s Evan Henderson, an outcome he would later reverse in the third-place bout. In 2013, Port was an NCAA runner-up and comes in with a 96-14 career record with 51 bonus victories. Of those 51 bonus wins, 23 are by fall and 14 of those came last season.


The two have never met in collegiate competition.


As Stieber steps on the mat at the event for the second time, it’ll be Ohio State’s 19th overall appearance in the event. Buckeye wrestlers have gone a combined 9-9, with Stieber picking up the most recent win last year. The first Ohio State wrestler to compete in the event was current Notre Dame College head coach Frank Romano, who wrestled at 118 pounds in 1970.


Port is one of two Edinboro wrestlers in the event. Teammate A.J. Schopp will make his third straight appearance in the event when he faces Lehigh’s Mason Beckman at 133 pounds. The first Edinboro appearance came in 1987 when Dean Hall competed at heavyweight. Fighting Scot wrestlers have combined to go 7-7 in 14 total matches at the All-Star Classic.


“We’re super pleased to have every single wrestler in the main portion of the event is an All-American,” said Moyer. “This truly is a special class of wrestlers and we’re honored they’re going to take the opportunity to showcase this amazing sport in the All-Star Classic in a building that literally means house of wrestling.”


To purchase tickets to the event, click here for the Penn Athletic Ticket Office.


The event will be streamed live by the NWCA’s live streaming partner Flowrestling. Fox College Sports will air the event on television via tape-delay no less than 10 times during the season, starting two weeks after the event has completed.  These broadcasts are paid for by Rothschild, a leading global financial advisory based in New York City with offices in Washington, Los Angeles and Houston.


Hibiclens and Resilite will again support the event as associate sponsors. The Rothman Institute and the United Association (UA) Group will also make 1,500 tickets available for local students (K-12) throughout southeastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, Delaware, and Maryland. These tickets will be distributed to regional schools by representatives of the United States Marine Corps.


Follow on Social Media!

For more information on the All-Star Classic, visit www.theallstarclassic.com and follow the NWCA on Facebook and Twitter. Fans can join the discussion with the #NWCAClassic hashtag. Fans should keep an eye on the discussion as there will be contests and interactive discussions about the event via Twitter and Facebook!


Competing wrestlers will be eligible for the Outstanding Wrestler Award, presented by the Wrestlers in Business Network - Atlanta Chapter.


Announced Matchups

125: Nahshon Garrett, Jr. (Cornell) vs. Joey Dance, So. (Virginia Tech)

133: A.J. Schopp, Sr. (Edinboro) vs. Mason Beckman, Jr. (Lehigh)

141: Logan Stieber, Sr. (Ohio State) vs. Mitchell Port, Sr. (Edinboro)

149: Jason Tsirtsis, So. (Northwestern) vs. Josh Kindig, Sr. (Oklahoma State)

157: James Green, Sr. (Nebraska) vs. Ian Miller, Jr. (Kent State)

165: Alex Dieringer, Jr. (Oklahoma State) vs. Nick Sulzer, Sr. (Virginia)

174: Robert Kokesh, Sr. (Nebraska) vs. Tyler Wilps, Sr. (Pittsburgh)

184: Gabe Dean, So. (Cornell) vs. Jack Dechow, So. (Old Dominion)

197: J’Den Cox, So. (Missouri) vs. Scott Schiller, Sr. (Minnesota)

285: Nick Gwiazdowski, Jr. (N.C. State) vs. Mike McMullan, Sr. (Northwestern)


Showcase Matchups

To Be Announced